Radioactive Disintegration Series

Radioactive Disintegration Series

Since radioactive disintegration is a continuous process hence a series can be drawn which is known as radioactive disintegration series. There are four such series:

(i) Thorium series (4n series) begins with ^{232}_{90}Th and ends at ^{208}_{82}Pb. [Mass is fully divided by 4]

(ii) Neptunium series (4n + 1series) begains with ^{241}_{94}Pu \text{and ends at} ^{209}_{83}Bi. [here reminder is one]

(iii) Uranium series (4n + 2 series) begins with ^{238}_{92}U \text{and ends at} ^{206}_{82}Pb. [here reminder is 2]

(iv) Actinium series (4n + 3 series) begins with ^{235}_{92}U \text{and ends at}^{207}_{82}Pb. [here reminder is 3]

Number of \alpha, \beta-particles emitted during these series.




4n 6


(4n+1) 8





(4n+3) 7



Neptunium series is an artificial series while rest are natural series.

Related posts:

  1. Rate of Disintegration Rate of disintegration The rate of disintegration is independent of...
  2. Radioactive Decay Radioactive decay Radioactive decay is the process in which an...
  3. Radioactivity Radioactivity...
  4. Units of Radioactivity Units of radioactivity There are three units (Becquerel, curie and...
  5. Sequence and Series Formulas Sequence and Series Formulas A sequence is a ordered list...