Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, the Gas Giants Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune

For an object to be considered a planet it must meet several requirements.

  • It must orbit the Sun,
  • it must be round,
  • and it must be able to clear other objects out of its orbital area.

For many years, scientists thought we had nine planets: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto. But because of the new test standards, Pluto has been demoted to the rank of "dwarf planet", while it is round and does orbit the sun, Pluto is too small to clear objects out of its path.

So there are 8 Planets:

  • Mercury - named for the Roman god of travel
  • Venus - named for the Roman goddess of love
  • Earth - comes from "ertha" an Old English/German word over 1000 years old, meaning soil and ground
  • Mars - named for the Roman god of war
  • Jupiter - named for the Roman king of the gods
  • Saturn - named for the roman god of agriculture
  • Uranus - in Greek mythology was the father of the Titans
  • Neptune - named for the Roman god of water.